KeeneticOS automatic updates

In Keenetic routers, an upgrade of the built-in operating system (software / firmware) can be performed automatically, without any user involvement. On the 'General system settings' page, in the 'Updates and Component options' section, the 'KeeneticOS automatic updates' option is enabled by default.

auto-upd.png

When the automatic update is enabled, Keenetic will automatically perform the update without any notification and this can happen any time. There is no possibility to choose the auto-update time (determined by the server, including the load on it). Also, it is not necessary that it will happen immediately after the release of the update - it can happen after a fairly long period of time and depends again on the server load and the number of devices being updated.

The essence of the auto-update is not that all routers quickly get a new version of the software as soon as it is released, but that the devices do not stay on the old versions of the operating system, in which there are known problems that have been solved in newer versions of KeeneticOS.

NOTE: Important! After downloading and installing an update, the router will automatically reboot. If important tasks are being performed on (or through) Keenetic and a forced update or accidental reboot is undesirable, disable the 'KeeneticOS automatic updates' option.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.